2020 Tempest Award Winners Announced

October 28th, 2020

Media Contact:

Nicole Cimo

[email protected]

For Immediate Release

2020 Tempest Awards Announces Winners

Capping the second night of the annual Esports Business Summit, a newly-virtual 2020 Tempest Awards once again paid tribute to the hard work and innovation from the industry’s business community drastically impacted by the pandemic. Hosted by ESPN’s Arda Ocal and produced in partnership with Super League Gaming, this year’s honors once again brought in some of the biggest names in the business, from long-time pioneers to the new generation of executives and personalities who will be driving the business in the years ahead.

Multiple category winners this year included ESL, Bud Light, 100 Thieves, NBA 2K League, Riot Games, ESPN and FaZe Clan, which also took home the award for Team of the Year. Awards were decided from a slate of judges from across the esports industry.

“In an unprecedented and challenging year, it was amazing to not only see the esports community come together to participate in our Awards show, but also be reminded of the amazing work and sweat that went into producing some of the most innovative shows we’ve ever seen,” said Chris Pursell, Chairman of Events at EBS. “Congratulations to all of the winners as well as the finalists and I can’t wait to see what’s to come next.”

2020 Luminaries

2020 Hall of Fame Inductees

Team Liquid Co-CEO Victor Goossens

Team Liquid Co-CEO Steve Arhancet

DreamHack President & Co-CEO Marcus Lindmark

Ambassador Award for Personality of the Year

Eefje ‘Sjokz” Depoortere

Sentinel Award

Marcus ‘djWHEAT” Graham

Watch List

Joe Barnes-Bud Light

Nicole LaPoint Jameson-Evil Geniuses

Arda Ocal-ESPN

Madison “Maddiesuun” Mann-Gen.G

Kyle Bautista – Complexity Gaming

Angela Roseboro – Riot Games

Mike Pusateri – Bent Pixels

Christopher Tai – Twitch


John Higgins – OS Studios

Anna Schiraldi – Twitch


Top Innovator During COVID-19

FaZe Clan

Top Consumer Media Outlet

ESPN Esports

Best Podcast

The Courage and Nadeshot Show

Top Documentary/Non-Competitive Series

NBA 2K League Locked In Powered by AT&T

Best Social Experience

TSM TikTok Launch

Best Social Driver Team

100 Thieves

Top Venue Activation

Bud Light for the Bud Light Payload OWL Finals

Best Brand Activation on Twitch

Honda’s 2019 Twitch Takeover

Best Non-Endemic Brand Activation

AT&T DreamHack Atlanta

Best Endemic Brand Activation

Cash App

2020 Brand of the Year


Best Amateur/Collegiate Esports Event

Collegiate StarLeague

Top Mobile Gaming Event

ESL Mobile Open

Best Sports and Sim League

NBA 2K League

Top New League or Series

The Call of Duty League

Top League/Series

League of Legends Esports

Event Production of the Year

The International 2019

Digital Executive of the Year

Eduard Montserrat, Stream Hatchet

Marketer of the Year

Rodrigo Samwell, ESL Gaming

Top Production Executive

Joseph Lynch, Electronic Arts

Top Collegiate Program

Harrisburg University

Team of the Year

FaZe Clan